Sainik Schools in india

Sainik Schools in India

The Sainik Schools are a system of schools in India established and managed by the Sainik Schools Society under Ministry of Defence. They were conceived in 1961 by V. K. Krishna Menon, the then Defence Minister of India, to rectify the regional and class imbalance amongst the Officer cadre of the Indian Military, and to prepare students for entry into the National Defence Academy (NDA), Khadakwasla, Pune and Indian Naval Academy. Today there are 25 such schools covering all the states of the country.

The schools come under the purview of respective state governments and Ministry of Defence, and in his Union Budget of 2008, Finance minister, P Chidambaram, allocated Rs 2 crore to each of the 22 Sainik schools, to counter rising attrition in the defence forces, especially at the officer level.


The inspiration for Sainik Schools came from the Rashtriya Indian Military College (RIMC) which have given India many service chiefs and the public school system of England. Sainik schools can be regarded as the ordinary citizen’s public school where deserving students can get high quality education irrespective of their income or class background. Seats are reserved for children of serving Defence personnel and concessions are given to children of Government officials. Although Uttar Pradesh Sainik School Lucknow,established in 1960 was the first one of such kind, it is not under the Sainik School Society, but rather under Uttar Pradesh Sainik Schools Society, which is registered under the Indian Societies Registration Act (1860)

The objective of the Sainik Schools is to prepare the students to lead as officers in the Defence Services of the country. The schools select bright and promising students through a national entrance examination and focus on moulding their overall personality with emphasis on extracurricular activities.

Sainik schools resources allow cadets to develop their skills in sports, academics and other extracurricular activities. Sainik Schools include running tracks, cross-country tracks, indoor games, parade grounds, boxing rings, firing ranges, canoeing clubs, horse riding clubs, mountaineering clubs, trekking and hiking club, obstacles courses, football, hockey and cricket fields, as well as volleyball and basketball courts. Cadets also become a part of NCC. A cadet who complete their 12th standard usually possess a NCC B certificate.

Cadets are assigned to houses. They are classified as sub-juniors, juniors and seniors respectively depending upon their class of study. Cadets compete in sports, physical training, academics, cross country, drill and various other competitions to win their house trophy.

Sainik Schools Society

The Sainik Schools Society is an organization under the Ministry of Defence. The Chief Executive Body of the Sainik Schools Society is a Board of Governors functioning under the Chairmanship of the Defence Minister. For exercising closer control and supervision over the affairs of Sainik Schools there is an Executive Committee under the Chairmanship of Defence Secretary. The day to day work of the Society is managed by Dir (Trg) & Hony Secy who is assisted by Inspecting Officers, Under Secretary, Sainik Schools Society and SO(Sainik School Cell). The staff for the cell is provided by the MoD. The local administration of the school is looked after by a Local Board of Administration whose Chairman is the GoC-in-C of the concerned Command where the Sainik School is located.

Existing Sainik Schools under Sainik Schools Society, MOD

For more information please click here

State Location Established Date
Maharashtra Satara 23-Jun-1961
Hary Kunjpura 03-Jul-1961
Punjab Kapurthala 08-Jul-1961
Gujarat Balachadi 08-Jul-1961
Rajasthan Chittorgarh 07-Aug-1961
Andhra Pradesh Korukonda 18-Jan-1962
Kerala Kazhakootam 26-Jan-1962
West Bengal Purulia 29-Jan-1962
Odisha Bhubaneswar 01-Feb-1962
Tamil Nadu Amaravathinagar 16-Jul-1962
Madhya Pradesh. Rewa 20-Jul-1962
Jharkhand Tilaiya 16-Sep-1963
Karnataka Bijapur 16-Sep-1963
Assam Goalpara 12-Nov-1964
Uttarakhand Ghorakhal 21-Mar-1966
Jammu & Kashmir Nagrota 22-Aug-1970
Manipur Imphal 07-Oct-1971
Himachal Pradesh Sujanpur Tira 02-July-1978
Bihar Nalanda 12-Oct-2003
Bihar Gopalganj 12-Oct-2003
Nagaland Punglwa 02-Apr-2007
Karnataka Kodagu 18-Oct-2007
Chhattisgarh Ambikapur 01-Sep-2008
Haryana Rewari 29-Aug-2009
Andhra Pradesh Kalikiri 2009

Links relatad to Sainik School

Source : wiki